wildly curious
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
RadioWest and Utah Film Center have partnered to present the best in documentary filmmaking. We talk with established and new directors who are changing the way audiences see the world and then screen their films.

Through the Lens: Hooligan Sparrow

Ye Haiyan, a.k.a. Hooligan Sparrow

Monday, we continue our Through the Lens series with a thrilling exploration of the power of protest and the efforts to contain it. Filmmaker Nanfu Wang will join us to talk about her documentary film Hooligan Sparrow, which follows the efforts of activist Ye Haiyan as she and fellow protestors work to shed light on sexual exploitation in China. They’re marked as enemies of the state and routinely harassed by thugs, and the web of trouble also threatens Wang’s film, not to mention her personal safety.

In this excerpt from today's show Nanfu Wang tells the Chinese folk tale "Little Horse Crossing the River"

Join us for a free screening of Nanfu Wang’s documentary film Hooligan Sparrow on Tuesday, August 23 at 7:00 p.m., at the Main Downtown Library in Salt Lake City. Doug Fabrizio will host a post-film Q&A with Wang. It’s all part of our Through the Lens series in partnership with Utah Film Center. MORE DETAILS

Nanfu Wang directed, produced, shot, and edited her debut film Hooligan Sparrow, which premiered at the 2016 Sundance Film Festival.

Doug Fabrizio has been reporting for KUER News since 1987, and became News Director in 1993. In 2001, he became host and executive producer of KUER's RadioWest, a one hour conversation/call-in show on KUER 90.1 in Salt Lake City. He has gained a reputation for his thoughtful style. He has interviewed everyone from Isabel Allende to the Dalai Lama, and from Madeleine Albright to Desmond Tutu. His interview skills landed him a spot as a guest host of the national NPR program, "Talk of the Nation." He has won numerous awards for his reporting and for his work with RadioWest and KUED's Utah NOW from such organizations as the Society of Professional Journalists, the Utah Broadcasters Association, the Public Radio News Directors Association and the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.
Related Content