wildly curious
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

The Universal Laws Of Success

jarrodvk, via CC/Flickr https://bit.ly/2N31zLD
Why do we remember the Red Baron and forget other pilots who were even more successful?

Wednesday, we're talking about success. The network scientist Albert-Laszlo Barabasi says he has figured out an actual, quantifiable formula that explains why some people are successful and others are not.

RadioWest divider.

Common wisdom holds that if you just work hard enough, success will be yours. But for every Einstein, Curie, or Shakespeare, there are countless numbers of people who toil in obscurity their whole lives. The network scientist Albert-Laszlo Barabasi says he and his colleagues have actually cracked the success code. They've come up with formula—five laws that govern who succeeds and who doesn't. When it comes down to it, success isn't about you, it's about us and how we value your achievements. 

Albert-Lazslo Barabasi is the Robert Gray Dodge Professor of Network Science and a Distinguished University Professor at Northeastern University, where he directs the Center for Complex Network Research. He's the author of several books. His latest is The Formula: The Universal Laws of Success [Indie bookstores|Amazon|Audible].

Doug Fabrizio has been reporting for KUER News since 1987, and became News Director in 1993. In 2001, he became host and executive producer of KUER's RadioWest, a one hour conversation/call-in show on KUER 90.1 in Salt Lake City. He has gained a reputation for his thoughtful style. He has interviewed everyone from Isabel Allende to the Dalai Lama, and from Madeleine Albright to Desmond Tutu. His interview skills landed him a spot as a guest host of the national NPR program, "Talk of the Nation." He has won numerous awards for his reporting and for his work with RadioWest and KUED's Utah NOW from such organizations as the Society of Professional Journalists, the Utah Broadcasters Association, the Public Radio News Directors Association and the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.