wildly curious
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

All the Light We Cannot See


The writer Anthony Doerr’s new novel All the Light We Cannot See tells the tale of a blind French girl in possession of a possibly cursed jewel, a German boy fascinated by radios, and their intersecting fates during World War II. For Doerr, it was a chance to explore the effects of war on children and his research for the book at times haunted him. He joins us Thursday to talk about his latest novel, his approach to writing, and about the profusion of miracles we encounter every day.

Anthony Doerr is coming to Utah Humanities Council's 2014 Book Festival. On Tuesday, September 23 he'll read from his new novel at the Merrill-Cazier Library on the campus of Utah State University at 7 p.m. DETAILS

On Thursday, September 25, he'll join local bookseller Betsy Burton for a conversation about his novel at the Viridian Events Center in West Jordan at 7 p.m. DETAILS

Anthony Doerr is the author of the short story collections Memory Wall andThe Shell Collector, the novel About Grace, and the memoir Four Seasons in Rome. He's the recipient of numerous awards, including a Guggenheim Fellowship, three Pushcart Prizes, and the Rome Prize. His new novel is called All the Light We Cannot See [Amazon|Indiebound].

Doug Fabrizio has been reporting for KUER News since 1987, and became News Director in 1993. In 2001, he became host and executive producer of KUER's RadioWest, a one hour conversation/call-in show on KUER 90.1 in Salt Lake City. He has gained a reputation for his thoughtful style. He has interviewed everyone from Isabel Allende to the Dalai Lama, and from Madeleine Albright to Desmond Tutu. His interview skills landed him a spot as a guest host of the national NPR program, "Talk of the Nation." He has won numerous awards for his reporting and for his work with RadioWest and KUED's Utah NOW from such organizations as the Society of Professional Journalists, the Utah Broadcasters Association, the Public Radio News Directors Association and the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.