wildly curious
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
RadioWest and Utah Film Center have partnered to present the best in documentary filmmaking. We talk with established and new directors who are changing the way audiences see the world and then screen their films.

Through The Lens: SLC Punk!

SLC Punk/Sony Pictures Classics

Twenty years ago, the film SLC Punk! premiered at the Sundance Film Festival. It’s about two young punks living on the fringes and rebelling against Utah culture, while also dealing with the realities of growing up.

RadioWest divider.

Twenty years ago, the film SLC Punk! premiered at the Sundance Film Festival. It’s about Stevo and his buddy Heroin Bob. They’re some of the very few punks living on the fringes of society in what was, in the 1980s, a very small city dominated by a single culture. Through their story, the director James Merendino explores what it means to live a life of rebellion, to live against the grain as hard as you can. We’re showing the film next week, and Merendino joins us today to talk about it.

On Wednesday, September 11, RadioWest and the Utah Film Center are screening James Merendino's film SLC Punk! at 7 p.m. at the Rose Wagner Performing Arts Center in downtown Salt Lake City. This is part of our Through the Lens series. Merendion will be there for a post-film Q&A. DETAILS

Doug Fabrizio has been reporting for KUER News since 1987, and became News Director in 1993. In 2001, he became host and executive producer of KUER's RadioWest, a one hour conversation/call-in show on KUER 90.1 in Salt Lake City. He has gained a reputation for his thoughtful style. He has interviewed everyone from Isabel Allende to the Dalai Lama, and from Madeleine Albright to Desmond Tutu. His interview skills landed him a spot as a guest host of the national NPR program, "Talk of the Nation." He has won numerous awards for his reporting and for his work with RadioWest and KUED's Utah NOW from such organizations as the Society of Professional Journalists, the Utah Broadcasters Association, the Public Radio News Directors Association and the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.