wildly curious
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Underwater Dreams

Members of Carl Hayden High School's 2004 robotics team.

  Tuesday, we’re talking about the documentary film Underwater Dreams. It’s about a team of undocumented high school students that takes on MIT in a national underwater robotics competition. Their triumph is just the beginning of the story though. Because of poverty and immigration issues, the would-be engineers face overwhelming hurdles to a college education. Director Mary Mazzio joins us, along with the University of Utah’s Enrique Aleman, to talk about the challenges and the paths to success for Latino students.

There's a free screening of Underwater Dreams on Wednesday, February 25, 7:00 p.m. at the Tower Theatre in Salt Lake City [Map it]. It's hosted by The Hinckley Institute of Politics as part of their 2015 Siciliano Forum on "The Future of US-Latin American Relations." Oscar Vazquez from the film will on hand for a Q&A following the screening. Click herefor information on this and other events throughout the week.

For Title I schools and educators, there are a limited number of free copies of the educational version of the film available through FirstBook.org and 3M. For details and to request your copy, click here.

Visit the Underwater Dreams website

Doug Fabrizio has been reporting for KUER News since 1987, and became News Director in 1993. In 2001, he became host and executive producer of KUER's RadioWest, a one hour conversation/call-in show on KUER 90.1 in Salt Lake City. He has gained a reputation for his thoughtful style. He has interviewed everyone from Isabel Allende to the Dalai Lama, and from Madeleine Albright to Desmond Tutu. His interview skills landed him a spot as a guest host of the national NPR program, "Talk of the Nation." He has won numerous awards for his reporting and for his work with RadioWest and KUED's Utah NOW from such organizations as the Society of Professional Journalists, the Utah Broadcasters Association, the Public Radio News Directors Association and the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.