wildly curious
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
A collection of RadioWest conversations about LDS history, faith, and culture.

President Russell M. Nelson and Challenges for the LDS Church

President Russell M. Nelson (center) and his two counselors in the First Presidency, President Dallin H. Oaks (left) and President Henry B. Eyring (right), address members of the media during a news conference on January 16, 2018.

Wednesday, we’re talking about new LDS Church President Russell M. Nelson, other changes in the First Presidency, and how the Church may meet the challenges of a global faith in the 21st century.

RadioWest divider.

Tuesday morning, the LDS Church announced the new leader of the faith. It was no surprise that Russell M. Nelsonwas called; there’s a clear succession plan when a president dies. It was a surprise though that he replaced the popular leader Dieter F. Uchtdorf as a counselor in the First Presidency, the highest governing body of the Church. So Wednesday, we’re talking about Nelson, the “new” face Dallin H. Oaks, and how they may meet the challenges of a global faith in the 21st century.

We want to hear from you. What do you see as the social, political, and faith challenges facing the LDS Church? What are you hoping to hear from Church leadership? Send an email to radiowest@kuer.org or comment below.


Doug Fabrizio has been reporting for KUER News since 1987, and became News Director in 1993. In 2001, he became host and executive producer of KUER's RadioWest, a one hour conversation/call-in show on KUER 90.1 in Salt Lake City. He has gained a reputation for his thoughtful style. He has interviewed everyone from Isabel Allende to the Dalai Lama, and from Madeleine Albright to Desmond Tutu. His interview skills landed him a spot as a guest host of the national NPR program, "Talk of the Nation." He has won numerous awards for his reporting and for his work with RadioWest and KUED's Utah NOW from such organizations as the Society of Professional Journalists, the Utah Broadcasters Association, the Public Radio News Directors Association and the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.
Related Content