wildly curious
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
RadioWest and Utah Film Center have partnered to present the best in documentary filmmaking. We talk with established and new directors who are changing the way audiences see the world and then screen their films.

Through the Lens: Chasing Ice

When photographer James Balog first headed to the Arctic for National Geographic in 2005, he says he was a skeptic about climate change. What he saw there though put his career on a new course. Balog is the founder of the Extreme Ice Survey– a project that captures visually dramatic manifestations of climate change. Thursday, Balog and filmmaker Jeff Orlowski join us to talk about the stunning documentary "Chasing Ice," which follows James Balog as he risks his life to document the impact of warming temperatures on the world's glaciers.

On Wednesday, December 5th at 7:00 p.m. RadioWest and the Utah Film Centerpresent a free screening of CHASING ICE at the Salt Lake City Public Library [map]. It's part of our Through the Lens documentary film series. Seats are available on a first-come basis, so plan on arriving early. Click herefor more information.

CHASING ICE opens in Salt Lake City on Friday, November 30. Find a showing near you.

Music from Today's Show:

Doug Fabrizio has been reporting for KUER News since 1987, and became News Director in 1993. In 2001, he became host and executive producer of KUER's RadioWest, a one hour conversation/call-in show on KUER 90.1 in Salt Lake City. He has gained a reputation for his thoughtful style. He has interviewed everyone from Isabel Allende to the Dalai Lama, and from Madeleine Albright to Desmond Tutu. His interview skills landed him a spot as a guest host of the national NPR program, "Talk of the Nation." He has won numerous awards for his reporting and for his work with RadioWest and KUED's Utah NOW from such organizations as the Society of Professional Journalists, the Utah Broadcasters Association, the Public Radio News Directors Association and the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.